RelicPrime113

Aug 20, 2013
Massachusetts
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter Quick Silver, Teknetics Delta 4000
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey everyone,

I'm a newbie here so please bare with me. I know this question has been asked many times so I truly apologize for a repetitive message regarding meteorites. As you can see, I have always had an interest in Meteorites and as a rock collector it is one of my goals of finding or owning one someday. Since they are more common in the American mid west, I don't know if there are any here in the New England area. Anyway, this rock i found is definitely a strange one to me. I found it on a snowmobile trail that is next to my camp in Grafton County New Hampshire. It came up as coins on the metal detector and had a high pitch tone. Excited, I dug it up and hoped it was an old coin but to my disappointment it turned out to be a rock. A really heavy one too. In fact it really bent the tip of my shovel while trying to dig it out. But just to make sure it wasn't the rock, i swayed my metal detector over it and sure enough it was the rock. Again, it came out as coins and had a high toned pitch which was pretty weird. If it was Iron, wouldnt it come up as iron and have a low tone?