Need help identifying bullet?

Diggr_D4

Greenie
Jan 19, 2016
Warner Robins/Cochran GA
Detector(s) used
Garret ACE 250 with NEL Tornado coil Garret pin pointer... Started relic hunting in Cochran GA
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
I am new to relic hunting and my first dig in Cochran GA. I found this bullet in 6-8 in deep and to my surprise --a bullet. I have seen a lot of cavity back bullets from the civil war but most are .57 to .69 range. This bullet is .35 - .36 Caliber and is ~ .725 in length. I cleaned it (probably shouldn't have) and saw the cavity back --wow. If it's a modern bullet I feel stupid. I have been around guns all my life and don't recall a cavity back??? Please help. P1000035.JPG P1000022.JPG P1000024.JPG

Upvote 0

d2

Bronze Member
Mar 18, 2005
Arkansas
Detector(s) used
Tesoro/Cibola Garrett ATPro
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
Digger D4, I cant find a picture in my book but may just not have seen it. I will look some more tomorrow and see if I can find anything but maybe in the mean time someone will know and tell us what it is...d2

OP
OP
D

Diggr_D4

Greenie
Jan 19, 2016
Warner Robins/Cochran GA
Detector(s) used
Garret ACE 250 with NEL Tornado coil Garret pin pointer... Started relic hunting in Cochran GA
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
Thanks... I have more pictures if it will help???

D4

d2

Bronze Member
Mar 18, 2005
Arkansas
Detector(s) used
Tesoro/Cibola Garrett ATPro
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
I can't find it anywhere, sorry...d2

enamel7

Gold Member
Apr 16, 2005
North Carolina
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Gold
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I don't believe it's a bullet. I've found similar things on an old dairy farm I search. I believe it's something off of farm equipment. Like an aerator pulled behind a tractor.

Last edited:
OP
OP
D

Diggr_D4

Greenie
Jan 19, 2016
Warner Robins/Cochran GA
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting