Need opinions...

tj.cama

Jan 2, 2013
New Jersey
Detector(s) used
Minelab Excal II
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
Have a 1800 acre farm in central nj that there was a revolutionary war skirmish on. Found one marked grave today during a quick hunt and another marker that I'm not sure what it is. Maybe a marker to something buried? My ctx3030 went off like a Roman candle over the small one, which is depressed approximately 2 feet down and is a square depression. Not rectangular like other graves in the area. Any opinions? Is it a marker for something buried? I don't think it's a grave.

Additionally I've been detecting the farm for 18 years and specifically this area for the last 5. I usually run a roam3 and a GoPro and have had evp's captured while detecting. One of which capturing a distant sound of a volley of fire and the other a evp I had no clue until I showed my uncle who is fluent in German. It says, "voraus" which is German for advance. This would make sense since hessians were fighting the militia during the skirmish. With this said, I just have a gut feeling that these are graves. I'm just questioning the smaller one. My father who I got into the hobby recently thinks that if the hessians were transporting something valuable, the militia loyal to the continental army (who slaughtered the hessians according to records) would have buried it and left to get reinforcements to retrieve it at a later time. ImageUploadedByTreasureNet.com1482798427.560656.jpg ImageUploadedByTreasureNet.com1482798444.214087.jpg ImageUploadedByTreasureNet.com1482798507.945852.jpg ImageUploadedByTreasureNet.com1482798524.603076.jpg ImageUploadedByTreasureNet.com1482798560.521624.jpg ImageUploadedByTreasureNet.com1482798580.551410.jpg

Peyton Manning

Gold Member
Dec 19, 2012
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
MXT-PRO
Sandshark
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
being full of opinions I will accommodate you

do I even want to know what evp's are?