Need some help

Phil_The_Rodent

May 3, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi guys,

I've read the forum casually on numerous occasions, but never really felt a need to join, but, here I am now with some questions.

As a quick introduction, I'm an artist by trade, and a recreational arm-chair treasure hunter with a keen interest in hand-ciphers.

Anyways, I got a metal detector for my birthday last year (Bounty Hunter Discovery 1100... which may or may not be good...) and so I decided to start researching good sites to detect at. Now I think I found one.

I was out to the site today, and while I know that it was owned land, and the area I was at was listed as a house in the city plan, and there is ruins of a cold cellar near the site, I'm not sure what to consider bedrock and what to consider foundation. When I look at aerial views of the site, which dates to around the mid 1800s, I see a right angle in the treeline where what appears to be foundation begins... which is promising... but, the size of the foundation is comparable to a suburban block. Like, half an acre or something. That seems way too huge for a house. And an awful lot of effort to cut and move such large stones...

I also saw what appears to be a stone support pillar still standing. Amazing.

What am I looking at when I'm out in the field? And where should I start looking? There's no roads now at the site and it's an awful lot of dense ground to cover. Any advice would be much appreciated.

hunter_46356

Feb 12, 2012
Indiana/Florida
Detector(s) used
NOx 800, AT Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting