new Fed rule, or just bank bs?

TheMcs

Nov 15, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I had a teller friend of mine say he could order $500 worth of halves. I asked him to do so this morning so we'd have something to do over the holiday weekend.
He called back and said his vault manager informed him of a new Fed rule saying halves may only be sold in volume to certain businesses. I said okay and moved on.
Yet on here, I see some of you ordering bricks of halves. How's that?

Upvote 0

Weaselbrott

Aug 12, 2012
Eastern Seaboard
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter- Quick Silver (I know, I am a novice, give me a break! :P)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
His lazy vault manager needs to suck the powdered sugar off his donut-eating fat fingers and use them to type up an order for some halves! This is a load of BS IMO, just try another bank.

OP
OP
TheMcs

TheMcs

Nov 15, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thought as much, thanks guys!

CoinFetcher

Bronze Member
Apr 29, 2012
Left coast
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Love to treasure hunt
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
LOL - It's just money - what a bunch of BS.

Either tellers are clueless as to how money works, or they are lieing.

projJakarta

Jan 17, 2012
Primary Interest:
Other
Maybe a new bank policy that applies to your area. It happened to me earlier this year...they cut off every non-business account holders from ordering halves...not just a specific branch but every single one around here.

Just move your accounts somewhere else.

lost

Jul 5, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Just a bank doing it's business. I posted here before our largest county bank and all it's branches will not order boxes, or rolls for any non-business customer. My branch manager said she would order coins for a recognized charity/type organization, if they had a pretty good story why they needed coins. It's the coming thing.

50cent

Silver Member
Nov 16, 2012