New guy with the usual questions.

Sam 8

Jan 23, 2012
Detector(s) used
MXT..it is a Pro, but I am a rookie.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Howdy.

I am a newbie here, looking for some input. I will check this thread at least once a day for feedback, and try my best to cover anything I don't give you here in the opener.
For many years have wanted a MD. I live in the heart of the Motherlode, in Northern California, on 11+ acres, and have always wanted to work this property and other parcels I have access to. I think it is safe to say this area is what you folks would call highly mineralized.
I want to be able to do it all, gold prospecting, coin shooting and relics. Because there are small, shallow creeks of interest to me, a waterproof coil is critical.
We also spend a considerable amount of time out in northern and north-central Nevada, using OHV's to get us into ghost towns and old mines...not the touristy ones, the ones that are 25-50 miles (sometimes more) from a paved road.
I am 6-4, and don't want a machine that will cause me to bend to get it close enough to the ground to do the work.
I consider myself fairly tech savvy, but understand that there is a learning curve here. I would prefer to buy one machine one time (I hear the laughter already) and learn to use it, and keep using it, instead of upgrading in a year or two and wishing I'd had the killer machine at some spot out in the middle of nowhere that I really don't want to hit again.
There is a chance my wife will want to one and several other folks in our little crew will be heading for the internet as soon as they see me pull something cool out of the ground. I am 53, retired, in pretty fair shape (walk 3-5 miles 4-5 times a week, cardio is the goal).
I know, from reading, that this is a Ford v Chevy deal in many respects.. ( I'm a Ford guy, own & restoring several)