New to all of this... whats off limits in the cities?

bullion007

Nov 5, 2007
Minnesota
New to all of this... what's off limits in the cities?

Hi Folks,

I'm brand new to the forum, was just told about it by a friend who is also just getting into MDing. I am also new to the cities.. moved here two years ago. I figure I can spend some time researching over the winter and buy a detector in the Spring and be ready to roll when it gets warm again. I look at the "today's finds" (realizing people dig tons of pull tabs for every coin they find) and I just don't know how I can't get into this. Just to get a signal and dig something up sounds like a lot of fun... and if it's a kid's hotwheel from last summer so what.. it still sounds like fun and then one day maybe you get lucky and find something really interesting.

So, I want to research potential sites but reading a few posts on this Minnesota area of the forum it looks there might be more restrictions in terms of where we can and cannot detect than other places around the country. Are there any general rules of thumb in terms of where MDing is allowed and not allowed in the cities?

Are there particular places you've been especially hassled, or where we just flat out cannot go legally?

I understand the need for permission on private land, that's a given, but how about in St. Paul and Minneapolis city parks? university campuses etc.?

I'm not necessarily looking for the great places to go... just any places. I figure there is VERY LITTLE virgin soil in the cities anyway... but what is legally okay?

Any thoughts?

Dave

cheezinoot

Jun 11, 2006
Emmons,MN
Re: New to all of this... what's off limits in the cities?