Miroku

Mar 24, 2013
Elkhart, Indiana
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 250
Primary Interest:
Other
Hello fellow Treasure seekers!

I am new to everything that is treasure finding. I see someone else made a post and someone said read the guides and such. I have read a couple but I am stuck at work for the next 10 hours and I figured making a post with questions would be easier than trying to find everything.

I work as a cashier at a toll road gas station. I see lots of people and see lots of change. Now originally I only looked for dimes and quarters 1964 or older. I also took out wheat pennies but that was it. I always have change to swap it with in my car. I also do the ordering for the store. That is about 2 boxes of quarters a week, 1 dimes, 1 nickel, and 2 pennies. I have been reading and there are apparently tons of coins I need to be looking for. I have no idea what nickels to look for or anything besides what I am already pulling. So my fellow hunters, and please only post if you have some helpful hints. Don't say search for yourself because that is not constructive and not helpful. I am asking from someone who really has no knowledge of any kind of coin hunting. I was told to just check the outside of the clear plastic of the rolls. If it is silver + copper then it's not what I want. I was also told that I should really only buy customer rolled coins from banks.

So fellow hunters, what should I be looking for in rolls of halves, quarters, dimes, nickels, pennies. What years or is there something special I should look at?
Should I buy from my banks on my free time?

Thanks for reading. I feel like I am letting coins go daily I should know about :)

Upvote 0

FloridaFinder

Aug 27, 2012
Florida
Detector(s) used
Minelab CTX 3030
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
To be able to better answer your questions, what is your goal to collecting coins? Only silver, one of each year and mint, specially minted ones, only highly valuable ones, etc.?