New to Metal Detecting :D

david.w

Tenderfoot
Sep 19, 2006
Hi everyone,
My name is David, and, as you can see in the title, I'm new to metal detecting / treasure hunting. A couple of days ago, my Garrett Ace 150 arrived in the mail. I assembled it, read the manual, did some bench tests, and took it outside (in the rain!).
To make a long story short, I loved it, and I can't wait to totally get the hang of it. I've been outside with it three times; each time I went to the playground by my house. The first two times I used it over the grass, and dug a few holes, and found a couple of modern-day pennies, among other random "junky" things. My first, and favourite find so far was a key on a rusty keyring. Maybe I should take it with me whenever I go out detecting... it can be my "key to success in treasure hunting" ;D
After I went out for the second time, on Friday night, I realized that I was leaving the park in worse condition than when I got there. I used the detector over grass before I had gotten the hang of pinpointing, so I was digging much bigger holes than necessary. When I filled in the holes / plugs, it looked far from perfect. I felt really guilty about it (and became very discouraged about metal detecting for a while), and vowed to only use it over dirt and gravel until I was sure I could pinpoint accurately.
I went out for the third time today, and stuck to using it over the red shale / gravel around the playground equipment. I got better at pinpointing, and found three pennies, part of a toy car, and some wire... not much, but the location wasn't that great (for finding super cool things like coins from the 1800's).
For some reason, my Ace would beep as I passed it over an area on the shale, but then when I went to pass the detector over the area again, it wouldn't beep. I assumed that it was some kind of trash elimination thing on the detector, so I moved on. Does anyone know what this actually means?