New to the hobby any help would help!

Lexfire23

Nov 7, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello, I'm just getting started into the hobby, a friend of mine had a Ace 250 and I watched him for a few hours. I had a starter detector when I was a kid back in the late 70's. I was amazed by the newer technology of today. I was wondering what would be a great model to start with but also wanted a model that I could still use as I progressed without having to buy another model?

Any info would be Greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Mark

Lexington Kentucky

Metal Detecting Stuff

Supporting Vendor
Supporting Vendor
Mar 19, 2012
Spring TX
Detector(s) used
CTX3030/F75LTD/ Garrett AtPro/ XP Deus
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome Mark! A lot depends on where you hunt and what you want to find. A popular mid priced machine is the Garrett AT Pro. It's good for relics, coins and jewelry and also waterproof.

Wayne

www.metaldetectingstuff.com

justdon

Bronze Member
Aug 6, 2013
Florida
Detector(s) used
Teknetics delta4000/Tesoro compadre/Garrett ace 250/Garrett propointer/Garrett at pro/Tesoro silver umax
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hello and welcome.

cudamark

Gold Member
Top Banner Poster
Mar 16, 2011
San Diego
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus 2, Equinox 800/900, Fisher Impulse AQ, E-Trac, 3 Excal 1000's, White's TM808, VibraProbe, 15" NEL Attack, Mi6, Steath 920ix and 720i scoops, TRX, etc....
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome and I agree with what Wayne said. Also, even the high end models are pretty much turn on and go. They just have many more options, detect deeper in most cases, are more stable, and can adapt to changing conditions better than the low priced ones. A lot will depend on your budget. Buy the best you can afford......which needs to include a pin pointer, sand scoop (if you have sand to sift) digging tools, pouch, headphones, etc.

OP
OP
L

Lexfire23

Nov 7, 2013
Primary Interest: