Newbie here with a possible stupid question

jpitt1970

Jan 5, 2009
Huntsville. Al
Long story short, I have acquired several Honda 5.5hp engines with almost zero hours on them, along with several Hypro 5200 series twin piston pumps.

Is it possible to rig up a piston type pump to make a suction dredge, or do I need to use a centrifugal pump? I have never seen a dredge in person and I am very new to prospecting, but really want to build myself something better than the simple sluice I currently have.

Also, if anyone is interested, I have 6 of the Hypro 5200 pumps for sale @ $200 each and 4 Honda Gx160 5.5hp engines for sale @ $200 each

Goodyguy

Gold Member
Mar 10, 2007
Arizona
Detector(s) used
Whites TM 808, Whites GMT, Tesoro Lobo Super Traq, Fisher Gold Bug 2, Suction Dredges, Trommels, Gold Vacs, High Bankers, Fluid bed Gold Traps, Rock Crushers, Sluices, Dry Washers, Miller Tables, Rp4
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I can picture a compressed air suction nozzle for desert dredging into a drywasher :sign13:
If only I lived close to a desert :tongue3:

GG~

nickmarch

May 30, 2009
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I can picture a compressed air suction nozzle for desert dredging into a drywasher :sign13:
If only I lived close to a desert :tongue3:

GG~

I've actually tested my fluid bed prototype as an air dredge. It works! Now if the shop would get on making it from aluminum...

Last edited:

Hoser John

Gold Member
Mar 22, 2003
Redding,Calif.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
What you probally have is called a POSITIVE DISPLACEMENT PUMP and is utilized for pumping water up to much higher elevations. I've used them many times before and EXTREMELY expensive and very useful. Not a lot of volume but for filling catch basins,water tanks or setting up a gravity dredge system from a cistern or water tower will work just mightyfine. Works like a any gas engine with intake valves and outflow valves ifn' that's what ya got........John

Last edited: