Not too happy with USPS

Pointman

Silver Member
Feb 18, 2013
Arkansas
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
I’ve used about all modern ones but right now: CTX 3030, White’s MXT Pro, XP Deus, Vaquero, White’s TRX
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I am not too thrilled with the USPS. I have been selling items for about 7-8 years on various sites. Earlier in the year, I had a packaged going out Priority and scheduled a pick-up. The postal carrier did not pick up the package for 3 days, but I still received a pick up confirmation day two. I have since spoken with my Postal Lady and she stated that she was never notified and that it happens all the time. The office did a CYA (cover their A--) by updating that the package was picked up when it hadn't. Two weeks later the buyer notified me that he hadn't received the item. I spent another 2 weeks calling the Post Office customer support line and finally (after a dozen calls) reached someone and they stated that the Post Office had 3 packages lost on the same day/route. The lady told me that it was probably sitting in a warehouse somewhere misplaced and that it would go to public auction once it is found. I didn't buy shipping insurance because the item wasn't that much, but after Priority shipping (which never took place) I was out close to $30 and the seller didn't receive the item that they bought.

Now I pay extra and go through UPS. The way I see it, I have never had problems using them and I have sent easily well over 100 packages personally and have used them for years through my work. I can also at least get a human on the phone the first time I call and get resolution if I have shipping problems, although I may not understand what they say sometimes.