Old Axe Head

Bumpa66

Feb 4, 2013
Kentucky
Detector(s) used
AT PRO
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
It warmed up today, so I got out for the first time this year. Didn't find much, except this old axe head. Any ideas on how old this is? I have no knowledge about axe heads. It measures 4.25 inches long, by 3.25 inches wide. I was thinking of putting this through an electrolysis treatment if it is worth it. Thoughts?

20150117_124436.jpg 20150117_124454.jpg

Upvote 4

hbeaton

Jun 4, 2005
Virginia Beach, VA
Detector(s) used
Minelab E-Trac
Hewing axe head (with notch). Hewing axes were used to take a round log and make into timber with flatter surfaces.

As far as age goes...kinda hard to tell exactly. This technology has been around for a centuries and with some axe designs, not much has changed through the years. If after electrolysis you happen to find a maker's mark, that may help date its manufacture.

OP
OP
B

Bumpa66

Feb 4, 2013
Kentucky
Detector(s) used
AT PRO
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thanks for the info hbeaton. Maybe there will be some identifying marks on it.

relicmeister

Bronze Member
Jul 26, 2012
Poconos, Nw.NJ & Delaware Valley
Detector(s) used
XP Orx Deus II, 9” coil
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
I;ve found about 15 axe heads and have yet to see a makers mark-well maybe one which said north. I ususally age an axe head by the site.
Soak it in apple cider vinigar-its a nice one.

pa plateau hiker

Bronze Member
Jul 15, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
If it's that small, it would be a broad hatchet, not a broad axe. I have found makers marks on broad axes before, but never on any type of hatchet. Electrolysis works very quickly on cleaning axe heads.

OP
OP
B

Bumpa66

Feb 4, 2013
Kentucky
Detector(s) used
AT PRO
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting