RacerX99

Greenie
Dec 31, 2016
Clearwater FL
Detector(s) used
Currently using AT Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
So, I have been hitting the local area pretty steadily and hard for the past 8 months. I enjoy detecting the beaches but "prefer" to cut plugs for vintage coins and old relics.

The problem is and I am too stubborn to admit that where I live it's very difficult to find old dirt. You know what they say (who is they? LOL) LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION! Of course I literally watched and re-watched at least a hundred videos online and get VERY fired up viewing the amazing finds PEOPLE IN OTHER STATES come up with on a pretty regular basis and then I leave my business early the next day and venture off for more clad, pull tabs & can slaw.

I am putting this out there in hopes that maybe there are some people on here from my area that "might" be able to point me in the right direction of some "old dirt" spots they know of that I might be missing? If not that's OK too as I will always make time to get out and hunt and one of these days I will choose a location that knocks my flip flops off! I am thinking about hitting more creeks and waterway areas. They will not be vast large areas of land but I figure they have to be old!

Maybe I should just officially change my detecting name to "OneMoreHoleTommy!"

Happy Hunting to you all and any thoughts for those of you who have been in my particular situation would be very appreciated.

RacerX99 out....

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2
There are vast parts of Florida where , if I'm not mistaken, were sparsely populated before the 1940s. And only became urban "sprawl" in the 1950s to the present. As it became a retirement mecca state. And other Florida hunters (except those perhaps in the very northern part of the state) have lamented the same thing, that silver on land is hard to find.