Opinions on inexpensive detector with target depth

skyhead

Tenderfoot
Apr 10, 2008
Hello all, I'm new to the hobby and I have a Tesoro Compadre. this detector works great for me but I'm thinking I'd like to have something that shows target depth. I'm getting tired of hitting a strong signal thinking its a coin but only to find its a hunk of metal 12 inches deep. Don't get me wrong. This detector finds all kinds of coins and I know I'm looking in areas that others have looked before.
I'm looking for a used model under $200 if possible. I'm thinking about a Whites Prizm III if I can find one for that price. Can anyone offer any other suggestions for a used machine with target depth?

Thanks
Dave

Upvote 0

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Re: Opinions on inexpenive detector with depth

Great depth is not all it is cracked up to be. What you really need is a machine that disc. accurately. These usually aren't found near $200, but sometimes you can get lucky.

Even detectors that show the depth of a target can be fooled too and report a coin at a certain depth when it isn't near that depth at all. It is best to not run the detector at to high a sens. setting as this is mainly the cause of the problem.

Rifleman

Oct 1, 2007
Re: Opinions on inexpenive detector with depth