KRAMER

Greenie
Jan 3, 2013
North Texas
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Pro Pointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hi all, I am very new to this and am trying to learn/follow etiquette. I found a sweet looking, overgrown old homesite I'd like to check out. There is no signage (i.e. private property, no trespassing, etc.) and I haven't seen anyone coming or going since I started watching a few days ago. It seems completely abandoned to me. Any advice would be appreciated.

Upvote 0

dholland02

Bronze Member
Jan 15, 2012
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace250
Minelab Safari
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Not gonna lie but ive hit a few places like that in the middle of no where. I just did it, people drove by never said a thing. Figured no houses near it no will bother us. Since there's no signs with names its near impossible to find someone. Id just hit it. I'm sure ill be ridiculed for this reply.

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2

Hi all, I am very new to this and am trying to learn/follow etiquette. I found a sweet looking, overgrown old homesite I'd like to check out. There is no signage (i.e. private property, no trespassing, etc.) and I haven't seen anyone coming or going since I started watching a few days ago. It seems completely abandoned to me. Any advice would be appreciated.

You're asking this on a forum where some people will tell you that you need permission to hunt public modern sandboxes (afterall, you can't be "too careful", now can you?). So what do you think some answers are going to be? Technically you should never even step off the sidewalk, afterall, anywhere you go, right? But I have to agree with D-holland on this one. If it's as remote and neglected and abandoned and open with criss-cross trails type of thing ..... then ........

OP
OP
KRAMER

KRAMER

Greenie
Jan 3, 2013
North Texas
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Pro Pointer
Primary Interest: