Pistol probe copy!

Ukuleledude

Jan 20, 2013
Newcastle
Detector(s) used
Gpx5000, Sovereign GT, Infinium ls, Garrett Atx, At Pro, Gold Bug-2
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi there! i’ve been detecting for a while now, but am a newbie here!

Just curious if anyone has come across the probe that looks very much like a pistol probe!
http://mcd.en.alibaba.com/product/593786196-212242050/MCD_2001_Handheld_Metal_Detector.html
Saw them on ebay for about $70. Depth claims(although probably exagerated) seem to indicate it is a pi as well.

chakra22

Oct 26, 2012
Columbus Michigan
Detector(s) used
Newbie --Researching for one now
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
It looks the same, I ve seen it on there too

Last edited:
OP
OP
U

Ukuleledude

Jan 20, 2013
Newcastle
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Try “handheld type security detector”

GibH

Silver Member
May 17, 2009
Florida
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Surf PI Pro/MXT/Quattro/Sovereign XS2 Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
It is a PI probe. Depth is exactly the same as my pistol probe. The difference I noticed was cover over the controls felt a bit flimsier (not enough to be certain though) and it was a mother to get the batteries out. I've got a DetectorPro probe and it has "made in china" on it so I am fairly certain they the same circuits. I can't say about the quality of the components.

I disassembled the copy to try and see how much depth it will get with a full size coil.

OP
OP
U

Ukuleledude

Jan 20, 2013
Newcastle
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
It is a PI probe. Depth is exactly the same as my pistol probe. The difference I noticed was cover over the controls felt a bit flimsier (not enough to be certain though) and it was a mother to get the batteries out. I've got a DetectorPro probe and it has "made in china" on it so I am fairly certain they the same circuits. I can't say about the quality of the components.