Heston83

Greenie
Oct 1, 2013
Joshua,TX. / Canadian, TX
Detector(s) used
Garrett ACE 250 W/ 10x14 Excelerator
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I'm new to MDing. By new, I just installed my second set of batteries into my first detector, an Ace 250..

I have been doing much research and live in an area with history dating back to early 1800s. During a recent hunt in a small stream I have found about 30-35 horse/mule shoes, and parts of shoes as well as tons of other iron. Bedrock is visible in some places, so I'm assuming that I may have a ford, or maybe old bridge?

Either way, I'm growing frustrated with my Ace going crazy on the iron, and telling me that silver is EVERYWHERE. Is there anything I can do aside from spending more $ on an upgraded detector? I'm thinking I may simply dig every single target, but.. Ugh.

Thank you in advance for any tips and advice! So far I'm loving my new hobby!

Ps. Found my first buffalo nickel last sat. Now I'm REALLY addicted. Haha

Upvote 0

jdsly

Mar 7, 2013
Detector(s) used
Garrett ACE 350
AT PRO
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome to the addiction. I have an ace 350. When in a place with lots of big iron it gets hard to distinguish it from "good targets". I found that with more practice i was able to tell good from bad targets just by how detector acts/sounds

OP
OP
Heston83

Heston83

Greenie
Oct 1, 2013
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Did you dig every target during your learning phase trying to weed out the iron? I have a sneaking suspicion that I may be skipping potentially good stuff because it sounds too much like a hunk of red metal..

Normsel

Bronze Member
Sep 10, 2012
D'Iberville MS
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
E-Trac
Equinox 800
Equinox 600
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting