Potential Hot Spot!

D

doyboy

Hey, dudes, since my club and I are no longer detecting for the winter, I have decided to further my research on a specific site. I have been researching this site for a couple months now. I just did not have time to further my research until now.

A couple of months ago, I was in the local history section at my library when I came across a picture of a schoolhouse. The caption below the picture said, "Used as a schoolhouse until 1922-1923." So, I decided to look more into it. Since our club had so many invitations to hunt other sites, I put this project on the "back-burner."

After scrutinizing 1873 atlas maps of the area, I finally pinpointed the site. I then decided to study some aerial photos of the surrounding land. As you will notice from the pics I scanned, the schoolhouse is no longer "standing." I believe the school was built sometime before 1873 and stood until the mid-1920s. If it has never been hit before, I tend to believe Paco and I will be digging some oldies.

Attachments

• research.jpg
    research.jpg
    9.5 KB · Views: 797
  • research2.jpg
    research2.jpg
    14.5 KB · Views: 788
Upvote 0

DetectorBase

Dec 31, 2006
Montana
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer SE w/SunRay X-1, X-5 and X-8 / Whites XLT / Whites GM3
Nice research!!!!! Way to go! I think you got yourself a good one there. Any leads on permission,etc?

Thanks for sharing.
DB

OP
OP
D

doyboy

I have driven past this site so many times last year without evening knowing what was there. There is a small home that sits about 50 yards away. I will have to look more into it and see who the rightful owner is. I'll keep you guys posted!

ModernMiner

Gold Member
Jan 9, 2007
North Carolina
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Minelab Manticore , Tesoro Silver uMax
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Great job researching. Thanks for sharing that post.
-MM-

eathabs

Bronze Member
Jan 11, 2005
Sunbury, PA
Detector(s) used
DFX 300, Classic ID