Preform Discoidal Find

catherine1

Bronze Member
Jun 25, 2010
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
My computer broke this week and I finally bought a replacement. I found this rock last Sunday in the same area as the other discoidals I have posted. It is dimpled on both sides and is worked on the whole diameter. Its about 2.5 inches. Thanks for the view.

Attachments

• 281.JPG
    281.JPG
    114.6 KB · Views: 574
  • 282.JPG
    282.JPG
    111.3 KB · Views: 576
  • 283.JPG
    283.JPG
    95.4 KB · Views: 561
Upvote 0
F

Felinepeachy

I don't know squat about these things but that definitely looks like an artifact. Cool!! ;D

huntress104

Apr 6, 2011
kentucky
Detector(s) used
Minelab Etrac
cool find. Since I am fairly new at picking up that kind of stuff, I would have probably passed right over that. But I am learning. People on treasure net have helped me a great deal in determining what is or is not an artifact. I am glad I found this site.

OP
OP
catherine1

catherine1

Bronze Member
Jun 25, 2010
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thanks for the replies/view guys. I never really had a grip on the pecking thing until I found this rock. Thanks again SRV!

ohio

Bronze Member
May 28, 2007
That is a pitstone/hammerstone not a discoidal. I find them very often on sites in SW Ohio.

Somewhere I put up a thread a while back. I will see if I can post some pics.

Chuck

ohio

Bronze Member
May 28, 2007
Here are some examples of similar pitstones and hammerstones from my area.

Chuck

Attachments

• pitstonesetc.jpg
    pitstonesetc.jpg
    70.5 KB · Views: 540
  • pitstonesetc.jpg
    pitstonesetc.jpg
    70.5 KB · Views: 527
OP
OP
catherine1

catherine1

Bronze Member
Jun 25, 2010
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
This rock has a dimple pecked on both sides and 80% of the edge has been worked also. I only see a couple (Ohio) of round rocks in your pic. Are they dimpled on both sides?

Tnmountains

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jan 27, 2009