Question about detector. Need advice.

Bama_BigJohn

Nov 21, 2006
Scottsboro, AL
Detector(s) used
Still trying to decide.
I'm trying to narrow down what detector I should go after and hope ya'll have some good advice. I'm a newbie and have never owned one. I will be detecting in the Northern Alabama, middle Tennessee, Northwestern Georgia area. I'd like to shoot for coins, jewelry and I also pan gold so I'd like one that could have a shot at that too. I'd like visual target ID also. Any suggestions as to a good machine to start with? Thanks in advance. John

mtntrekr2

Jul 15, 2007
berks county, pa.
Detector(s) used
Excalibur II 1000, Xterra-70 x3, Garret ace 250,
Get an Ace 250. Simple to use. Easy to learn. And will teach you a lot. Not to say easy to resell if you loose the bug.

Just my thoughts
Joe

cntrydncr1

Gold Member
Feb 23, 2007
Bradenton, Fl
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
ACE 250, Minelab Excal II, ETrac, Infiniuim
mtntrekr2 said:
Get an Ace 250. Simple to use. Easy to learn. And will teach you a lot. Not to say easy to resell if you loose the bug.

Just my thoughts
Joe

Ditto! great little machine. I love mine

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi John, It is hard to have a detector that excels at all types of detection as most of us have one for each type of hunt we like to do. Sort of like golf clubs or firearms. Ya just can't have just one...... :wink:

With that in mind I think the Whites DFX or better yet the MXT would suit ya just fine. With a couple different sized coils you'd be pretty much set for tons of fun and finds.

For a field test on the MXT http://losttreasure.com/fieldtests/ArchiveView07.cfm?ID=lt20030137

Good Luck,
Sandman

TimC (North Alabama)