Questions about a folding backpacking sluice.

Gold Rover

Feb 19, 2014
Western Colorado
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
I'm new to prospecting and I've got 1 season under my belt using a folding 50 inch Royal backpacking sluice. It's fits great into my backpack or into a 5 gallon bucket and I've had a lot of fun with it. But I wonder about loosing fine gold through any leaking at the joints. What do you think experts, should I worry about it?

Have you had any experience good or bad with a box like mine??

fuseboxxx

May 6, 2013
I have the same one. I wouldn't worry. Just get it as straight as you can cause most of it will get caught in the first section anyways before the first hinged part. You could also buy the frame that is made for it to straighten it out. Just take the legs off. Hope that helps

OP
OP
Gold Rover

Gold Rover

Feb 19, 2014
Western Colorado
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
I have the same one. I wouldn't worry. Just get it as straight as you can cause most of it will get caught in the first section anyways before the first hinged part. You could also buy the frame that is made for it to straighten it out. Just take the legs off. Hope that helps
Thanks for the reply. I straighten it and give each hinge nut some tightening each time i run it. I'll relax and enjoy it.

Plus, I've got plans for some DIY projects, so it won't be my only alternative.

B H Prospector

Feb 2, 2010
Black Hills, South Dakota
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi goldrover and welcome. I personally don't use folding sluices but know of some who have of verious makers. They have all told me that they have seen gold and material being sucked out the bottom through the hinged area. What they did was run a piece of thin weather stripping accross the bottom. Problem solved. You still need it as flat as possible.

Good Luck!

BH Prospector

tyeechinook

Sep 3, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting