GoldbeltDan

Greenie
Feb 5, 2017
Villa Rica Georgia
Detector(s) used
Home made sluice box with goldhog mats
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Hi everyone I'm new to the prospecting hobby. I have a stream that is close to my house. This stream in a heavy rain raises like 30 ft. It's in a deep ravine. Very few areas has bedrock coming out of the stream. It also has multiple sandbars on the inside and outside bends and one big one in the middle of the stream that raises up like 5 ft above the stream at normal water height. I have found a lot of course black sand some rounded quartz rocks lot of course sand as well. Found a lot of rocks with iron in them. How do I approach this stream to sluice in? Any help would be deeply appreciated!

Upvote 0

vpnavy

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jun 15, 2008
York County, PA (USA)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
tn_md.gif
I noticed this is your very first post - so, Welcome Aboard! You didn't list your state (or country) in your profile. So, you might consider jumping over to Sub-Forums: Select Your Area.... and selecting location information (i.e., clubs, hunts, finds, legends, maps, etc.) directly related to your state (or country).

OP
OP
G

GoldbeltDan

Greenie
Feb 5, 2017
Villa Rica Georgia
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Sorry just went back and updated my profile. I'm from Villa Rica, Georgia USA

kcm

Gold Member
Feb 29, 2016
NW Minnesota
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Silver uMax
Primary Interest:
Other
First question is, are you in a gold-bearing area??

While gold is still being found in N Georgia, it's not all over the place like in CA and AK.

As for where to set up a sluice, the best approach is to grab a pan and sample, sample, sample. If you spend a few days, or even a few hours sampling, you may be able to tell whether your area even has gold in it. Make sure of your local laws before setting up a sluice. Hopefully GA isn't as crazy as CA!!

OP
OP
G

GoldbeltDan

Greenie
Feb 5, 2017
Villa Rica Georgia