Safari concerns

dusty bin

Oct 10, 2013
Hi I have been using a garrett ace 250 for my last five months and its got me hooked but I feel it's time to upgrade to a better detector after lots of research I'm thinking the safari is the way to got but reading the forums gives me a few concerns manly minelab plug the safari as a switch on and go bit of kit but a lot of new users seem to have problems getting use to the slow and low swing what about when low is not possible like in long grass or a newly dug up field ? These concerns has got me looking at the x terra 705 a fair bit cheaper and maybe a more all round machine but I would like a FBS detector my main question is are there people out there that regret buying the safari and wished they had gone with the 705 instead i would be very great full for any info any of you can give me before I spend my hard earned cash

gunsil

Silver Member
Dec 27, 2012
lower hudson valley, N.Y.
Detector(s) used
safari, ATPro, infinium, old Garrett BFO, Excal, Nox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have a Safari and I do like it. I maybe would have liked an etrac better but I wanted the FBS too, and the Safari was more affordable. All detectors like low, some may have faster recovery speeds but all are handicapped in high grass or plowed fields. Any of the FBS machines are way more advanced than the 250 and it will take you some time to figure the beast out. Good luck with your decision and hunting with your new machine!!

Longhair

May 26, 2012
Backside Of Nowhere In Mid-Michigan
Detector(s) used
Fisher F2,
Fisher 1280X,
MineLab Xterra 705,
MineLab Explorer SE
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
FBS & V-Flex are very different yet complimentary technologies. Each has it's advantages, which is why they were combined in the FBS2 CTX-3030.
I have both an FBS and a V-Flex. Of the two the FBS will go away first, and then only to purchase an FBS2. The V-Flex will remain in the arsenal for a long time.

lisfisher

Mar 5, 2008
CT