So this happened yesterday. Rigged coil could only last so long.

skateandcreate

May 5, 2008
MARYLAND
Detector(s) used
Garrett ACE 350, Minelab GPX 4800
I've been hunting with a rigged DD coil for the last 7 months probably. All the fun started when I leaned a little too much on my machine for balance while being lazy digging a hole. Snapped the stock coil bolt. I got a nylon toilet bolt and washer and all was well for a while. That is until one of the tabs gave up the ghost. Alas another rigging discovery. Wrapped the long bolt to the coil with electrical tape and it held for another two or three months! ImageUploadedByTreasureNet.com1420344356.823048.jpg Then finally yesterday the inevitable ImageUploadedByTreasureNet.com1420344403.290143.jpg I managed this macgyveresque repair to last one more hour for the rest of the day ImageUploadedByTreasureNet.com1420344475.679732.jpg
Now comes the hard part. I can't see spending $100+ on replacing a coil that works perfectly fine but is missing tabs so I'm thinking of using epoxy to repair it again. Anyone had luck with such trials?

Upvote 0

Slingshot

Bronze Member
Apr 3, 2004
Southern Appalachia
Detector(s) used
Whites CM2 BFO, Harbor Freight 9 function, BH Pioneer 202, Fisher F22
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Epoxy, fiberglass, wood, just about anything to keep it going, done it all. I've seen some new water activated type of fiber tape that dries like epoxy at Lowes and Home Depot which looks like it would work too. Just have to use your imagination and some common sense. Looks like you are blessed with plenty of both, so don't give up on it yet and please post your repair when you have done the next step in the process of keeping this coil alive.

FreeBirdTim

Silver Member
Sep 24, 2013
Scituate, RI
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I chipped the edge of my DD coil and fixed it with JB Weld. Six months later and it stills works great!

Nitric