Surf/Water hunting 101

minelab rick

Jul 1, 2006
Charlottesville, Va
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer XS
I have been hunting in dry/wet sand for the last 6 years or so. However, i have tried to hunt in the surf some and am totally ignorant of method and technique. I purchased an inexpensive Cobra Beach Magnet to get my feet wet( pardon the pun) and have tried to use it unsuccessfully. If one of you experienced hunters could take me from the part after I get on the beach, I sure would appreciate it. No detail is to small. I'm headed back to the Outer Banks 6/21 for a week and a half and would like to be able to hunt in the surf.

Thanks in advance for all your help

Rick

Upvote 0

Treasure_Hunter

Administrator
Staff member
Jul 27, 2006
Florida
Detector(s) used
Minelab_Equinox_ 800 Minelab_CTX-3030 Minelab_Excal_1000 Minelab_Sovereign_GT Minelab_Safari Minelab_ETrac Whites_Beach_Hunter_ID Fisher_1235_X
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Rick,

I will tell you what little I know, hope it helps.

Are you not finding any targets in the surf, or just no jewelry? Did you try dropping a quarter or ring in the water with a string attached to the ring and see if it sees it.

I originally bought the Corbra Beach Magnet, but returned it the next day because it did not see a lot of targets even laying on the ground. I returned it and got the Whites Beach Hunter ID. Cobra would not see any gold chains, necklaces, or small rings I laid on the ground. It did see large mens rings, and coins, but I didn't want to be walking over a nice gold chain or a ladies small gold ring with a huge diamond on it to dig a pop top a foot away. (just my personal opinion, but the cobra is waste of money to me) Kellyco allowed me to trade up, but I still had to pay the restocking fee.