The ideal detector for 20th century battlefields?

Tommygunn

Apr 21, 2008
Misano Adriatico, Italy
Detector(s) used
Fisher 1236X2
Hi to everyone, first post and all that.
I'm new to metal detecting and since I'm obsessed with all aspects of WW2, and since I live in Italy these days, I would like some advice on an ideal detector.
I will require a detector that would be ideal for battlefield exploration. A detector that can find the smallest to the largest item in all metal types. I will also occassionaly do some recreational beach detecting on both dry and wet sand.

I'm looking at a price bracket of between $220 to $320.

The Garrett 250 has caught my eye but I heard it is not so good on wet sand and of course I don't want to rule out the rest of the market.

Any help greatly appreciated.
Tom.

Upvote 0

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2
You say you want a detector that "can find the smallest to the largest item in all metal types.". If so, then get a pulse beach unit (several different types and brands). Or if you really want to fulfill your requirements ("find the smallest"), then get a nugget machine like the Minelab GPX4000! Heck, you won't even miss a BB or a staple!