The New Guy (from the east coast of Nebraska)

truthcolor

Tenderfoot
Aug 25, 2010
Omaha, Nebraska
Hey guys-

I am new to the forum and excited to be posting. I am also new to arrowhead hunting, but in my first two outings have found a couple points and a few other curious items. I will post pictures as soon as I can get my camera to work.

I live in Omaha, NE (anyone else from this area?). My finds thus far have been while creek walking in a small tributary in the lower Platte River valley. This particular area is affiliated with the Central Plains tradition— a term used by archeologists to define the vast prehistoric Native American population that lived in Nebraska from A.D. 1000 to 1400. Does anyone have any finds from this area?

A couple questions for you:

1. How often do you walk the same stretch of creek? I realize that it probably depends on how much rain the area is getting. Would you/do you search the same stretch even if it hasn't rained? After every rain?

2. I haven't searched any fields yet, but would like to. Do you just pull into a farm's driveway and knock on the door for permission?

I hope that I don't sound like a fool with these questions... any input is greatly appreciated!

Upvote 0
F

Felinepeachy

Hi Truthcolor, and welcome to TreasureNet. I can't wait to see your finds. I haven't had any luck walking creeks but I would say that even if you've had no rain you could still walk the same area again because there is always a good chance that you didn't see something the last time you were there.

As far as field hunting goes, talk to a few farmers you may already know and they could suggest people for you. Then when you walk up to a door you can start by saying, "So and so told me you might blah blah blah....."