Time to get a detector!!

Beachkid23

Silver Member
Oct 26, 2013
fort myers fl
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have never been interested in metal detecting until I started reading this forum. Then I went with a friend of mine and we started finding shell casings. We found them at the local playground. We found them in empty field by where I live. And then we found them down the road in the woods also. I asked her why were finding so many shell casing here what are they from? She said that the area I live in used to be a military training base for World War II. Now that got my interest. So doing a little bit of research, I live on what use to be the Buckingham army airfield. This was used in ww2 for training. At their peek they had 700 buildings and 6 runways. Now I'm not an expert... But there has got to be some good stuff in my back yard. Not to mention I live in a community that all the houses were just recently built here within the last couple years. So All the earth has just been turned over recently for construction. Since my grandfather was in World War II, he was a pilot, this makes me want to go out and see what might be left behind! If I never find anything. That's okay. But just seeing some of the stuff that he may have seen when he was active and doing this for his country is well worth anything valuable find!

So I think after reading up about where I live it's time to get a metal detector. Don't really know what kind to get. The $20 one I had did not tell me anything was not the right one. So I need something better. I went out with a friend and she had a Garrett. This is some of what I found.

image-3218980932.jpg

image-3018662245.jpg

ThTx

Dec 19, 2006
Combine
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Garrett Master Hunter CX Plus, Teknetics G2
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting