Trouble with NiMH batteries in my XLT

jeffmajer

Greenie
Aug 22, 2007
Has anyone else had this problem. I am pretty new to MDing and reacently bought some NiMH (Nickel Metal Hydride) batteriesfor my XLT, which is pretty well used but seems to work fine with alkaline batteries. While detecting the other day, for the first time with the new NiMH batteries in the machine, it shut down for no good reason. The machine also would not start twice with these batteries powering it. I went out for a couple of hours today. First thing I try to start up with the NiMH batteries and it won't even come on. I switch to some alkalines and I have no problems. Has anyone else had this problem, any ideas?

cavers5

Feb 16, 2005
Yep, I had problems, too, so just using alkaline all the time now.

Good luck!

Cavers5

George (MN)

May 16, 2005
New NiMH batteries are sold uncharged. Did you charge them before trying to detect? I always used NiMH batteries in the XLT I had & they would charge up to 11.6 volts, quickly drop below 11 volts & spend most of their useful life at 10 volts or so. Once they get a little below below 10 volts they drop quickly & the detector becomes unusable at maybe 7-8 volts.

I assume you observed the corect polarity if you were using individual NiMH batteries & not the White's pack? I assume you're sure the battery charger works OK? It would be unlikely the NiMH batteries would be defective, but as I said they do come uncharged. Are you able to get a battery voltage indication on the XLT? Are you able to use another battery tester to check the batteries?

I don't know if the following applies to detectors, but sometimes the remote for the TV would quit working & before assuming dead batteries, I would spin them around in the remote. This usually made the remote start working again. Perhaps this helped clean the contacts? HH, George (MN)

Carl-NC

Bronze Member
Mar 19, 2003
Washington
Detector(s) used
Custom Designs and Prototypes
Primary Interest: