UK Farmland with Euro Ace - Coin find.

Sadams1980

Dec 29, 2004
Detector(s) used
Garrett Euro Ace, Garrett Pro Pointer
Hi all,

This is my first time here for a few years, I got rid of my metal detectors about 5 years ago as I didn't have time to go out.

I am now single and just before Xmas I brought myself a Garrett Euro Ace, after doing months of research looking for the right detector and I must say I am really impressed so far. I live on a farm and there are around 9 fields, I have started in the last field and I am going to go around in a anti-clockwise direction. All the fields have public footpaths on them and 1 particular field has had a public footpath going through it for over 100 years which goes through to the local church, so I have started in this field. Finally managed to go out properly for the first time yesterday (I have been practicing with the detector over the last week or so getting used to it).

Please see below for my finds. I have mainly found horseshoe nails (it is my grandfathers farm and he used to keep his horses in that meadow), I have also found what looks like a trailer pin. Today I was out in the field and I found the coin?? It is battered (the field has been ploughed a few times), but i can certainly see a slight pattern on one side. Should I try to clean this up and what would be the best way? I haven't a clue what the coin is made of, but it is round. It is very thin (as I said it looks battered a bit) and there are greenish flecks in it. Anyone give me a hand identifying it? I know its a long shot with the pictures.

IMAG0168.jpg
IMAG0173.jpg

IMAG0174.jpg

Upvote 1

Erik in NJ

Silver Member
Oct 4, 2010
The Garden State
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer SE Pro & CTX-3030
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting