V3i - 3 way matrix

RCGoodin

Sep 12, 2013
Goodyear, AZ
Detector(s) used
Just bought a used White's V3i. Can't wait to get it.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi, I'm new to my V3i and hunting. I run the standard Coin & Jewelry program. I ground balance about every 10 minutes. I start with my finger off the trigger. When I get a hit and the VDI falls in line with the spectrograph, I push the trigger forward to see what kind of bell curve I get. When I keep moving the coil over the hit, I get a different bell curve each time and it seems to be all over the place. I give in and pull the trigger forward to see which type of metal and depth I need to go.

I was wondering if there was a suggestion to tweak the program so the bell curve function would be more trustworthy. I keep hearing from others that you need to just keep digging and put up with the junk. I was hoping there was a more scientific tweaking that made sense.

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Trooper733

Apr 3, 2013
Eastern Oklahoma
Detector(s) used
Whites V3i,Whites DFX, Whites TRX, Garrett Pro Pointer
Primary Interest:
Other
RC,
I also have a V3i that I recently bought and I am still learning it too. I think you are referring to the sizing option on the trigger forward mode. I have found that it is dependent on coil sweep speed and smoothness of your swing. I discovered that when I was pinpointing or using either the sizing option or the polar plot option that I wasn't as consistent in my swing speed and smoothness as when I was actively searching. When I corrected my swing speed when using "trigger forward" and narrowed my swing width over the target, I started getting a more consistent bell curve displayed with the 3 frequencies with the green (7.5Hz) on top when it was a GOOD target. I'm far from being as adept with the V3i as I have been with my DFX yet, but hope this helps.

OP
OP
RCGoodin

RCGoodin

Sep 12, 2013
Goodyear, AZ
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting