Where to start

Istang

Oct 28, 2012
Cohutta Ga
Detector(s) used
G2, Alpha 2000(5 inch coil)
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Hi... I'm new to prospecting and I've managed to learn some lately but I still have a lot to learn.. I'm wanting to go mining this weekend and do some panning. I know enough to start at streams and rivers... But once I get to the waterway ... Where do I start... I know there must be things to point out of evidence to start looking.. I know u can't just pick a spot and hope to find gold so my question is if someone can give me some guidelines, hints, tips, where to start looking.where and how to start

Upvote 0

B H Prospector

Feb 2, 2010
Black Hills, South Dakota
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi Istang,
Start at gravel bars that have formed on the inside bend of a creek. I would start at the upstream end of the bar and dig deep and try to get to bedrock. Look for exposed bedrock in the creek or on the edges of the creek along the banks. Clean all of the material out of depressions, cracks and crevises on the bedrock. Work areas around and under boulders in and out of the creek. Look for gravel benches left high and dry up on the banks by flood waters using the same methods as mentioned here. Look for and work any places and objects that looks like it would slow down the water flow so the gold will drop out. Even grass roots and tree roots and moss will catch gold. This should get you started, hope it helps.

Good Luck!

BH Prospector

nickmarch

May 30, 2009
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Put a rare earth magnet with at least 50lb pull on a string or put the magnet in a plastic bag & tie the bag to a string.

Walk with the magnet near the ground/water. When large amounts of black sand fly to the magnet sample with your pan for gold. If there is gold start panning!