Where would you work a place like this?

Swartzie

Mar 15, 2009
Tuscarawas County, Ohio
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Tejon
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
I'm totally new to panning. We did find a flake recently, however the river is an hour and a half drive so I'm looking for something closer. At least I know there is gold in Ohio. In the river where the flake was found we were sucking cracks in the bedrock. The rivers near me don't have exposed bedrock like that. But, there are several places with large rocks that create the riffle effect in the water. So looking at the attached photos where would you start to work a place like this? Upstream, downstream, or right in the rocks? Both upstream and downstream are calm and downstream kind of meanders a bit around a bend.

Thanks for any input
-Swartzie

Attachments

• DSC02392.JPG
    DSC02392.JPG
    79.3 KB · Views: 493
  • DSC02394.JPG
    DSC02394.JPG
    82 KB · Views: 485
Upvote 0

Gramps43

Feb 27, 2011
Tillamook, OR
Detector(s) used
White's 4900/D Pro Plus
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Swartzie,

you didn't show what the shore line looks like, in most cases you work the shore or you use a hand suction device to work around rocks on the inside of a curve in the river. By the looks of those pics you're going to have to wait till that water goes down to about half that flow. JMO

Gramps

OP
OP
Swartzie

Swartzie

Mar 15, 2009
Tuscarawas County, Ohio
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Tejon
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
Gramps43 said:
Swartzie,

you didn't show what the shore line looks like, in most cases you work the shore or you use a hand suction device to work around rocks on the inside of a curve in the river. By the looks of those pics you're going to have to wait till that water goes down to about half that flow. JMO

Gramps

Yeah, we just got an inch of rain the day I took the pictures. So the water was up a bit.