Which MD would fit me best??

TeddyMexico

Greenie
Feb 25, 2008
Indianapolis
Hi. I'm TeddyMexico, and I'm a noob.

::hangs head in shame::

I need some advice on which MD would be best for me. The first ones I was checking out were underwater/land hybrids. But now, I'm thinking that i want to start off with a decent/good land detector.
I live in Indiana and may be moving to Florida, but i have a year or so before that happens. Figure I'll just get a saltwater machine if/when I move. Anyway, I honestly have not done too much investigating yet. I'm not even sure how much a "good" MD costs. I don't want one that's bottom of the line, though I do not necessarily need the ultimate best. I'm going to start off by hunting primarily Indian grounds, old towns/church's looking for relics/coins/silver/gold? I also have some interest in checking out some of the old War/Battle sights down in Kentucky and Tennessee this summer.

What type of MD would you recommend? And I definitely want something that is good for gold because my best friend is moving out west this summer and I will be MDing with him in/near the mountains.

Rob66

Bronze Member
Jun 30, 2006
California
Detector(s) used
Whites new coinmaster-Teso Silver Max-Minelab GT
Minelab GT, if you can fork the $ it will do what ever and when ever you want.

You left out some important questions in order for us to help you;

What is... your budget?
How heavy do you want it?
Are you an underwater diver?
There are different kHz....etc.

RD ;)

Pulltab Parson

Jan 20, 2007
Northwest PA
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Tejon, Tesoro Vaquero, White's Prizm III, White's Bulls-eye Pinpointer II
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hey Tedd,

The GT is a good machine no doubt about it, I have read a good amount, but it can be a little pricey. You have a number of options (which I'm sure you will hear here).