which metal detector is right for me?

Sasha Dexter

Nov 16, 2010
I am buying a metal detector in the spring and have not decided which to get. I have looked at the metal detectors with two boxes, mainly because most of the legends I have read about that I would like to look for would be deep. I am a beginner with a lot a lot of excitement. I also cant afford to spend a thousand dollars on a machine right now. But I am looking for something of good quality that is going to be worth spending the money on. I live in a very rural environment actually in a valley to be more specific, so we are surrounded by hills. If anyone could suggest a detector that would be right for me I would greatly appreciate it.

Upvote 0

Keppy

Gold Member
Nov 19, 2006
N.E. Ohio on lake Erie
Detector(s) used
** WHAT ONE I FEEL LIKE ON HUNTING DAY *****
Primary Interest:
Other
Well if you want a 2 box .. i would look for a Garrett GTI2500 and the 2500 is a very deep detector... then it is the only detector that i know that you can put a 2 box coil on if you want look for a used 2500 on ebay i saw a refurbuished one on ebay for $589.00 with the warranty on it..then later when you get the extra cash you could get the 2 box coil... some times you can pick up the 2 box coil for $200.00 and a used 2500 for $450.00............. but that one for $589.00 is really new.......

Attachments

• hbby_imaging_detectors_r4_c4.jpg
    hbby_imaging_detectors_r4_c4.jpg
    54.4 KB · Views: 432
  • hbby_gti2500_depth_multiplier_package_r4_c5.jpg
    hbby_gti2500_depth_multiplier_package_r4_c5.jpg
    90.7 KB · Views: 461

Cass

Feb 16, 2005