Which one will be the best

austin82

Mar 26, 2014
Good ole' Texas
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I'm new to metal detecting and have been doing some research on different underwater models. I will mostly be doing river bottoms and freshwater lakes in my area with an occasional trip to the texas coast. I'm stuck between the tesoro tiger shark, the sand shark and the Garrett sea hunter. I understand that PI machines are the best in the wet sand but how do they do in the freshwater muddy bottoms. I'm wondering what would be the best all around detector out of those 3. Thanks

Upvote 0

Silver Simon

Mar 17, 2013
Coldwater Michigan
Detector(s) used
XP Deus
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm new to metal detecting and have been doing some research on different underwater models. I will mostly be doing river bottoms and freshwater lakes in my area with an occasional trip to the texas coast. I'm stuck between the tesoro tiger shark, the sand shark and the Garrett sea hunter. I understand that PI machines are the best in the wet sand but how do they do in the freshwater muddy bottoms. I'm wondering what would be the best all around detector out of those 3. Thanks

I hear great things about the Tesoro models, as far the power you get for the price, and you can't beat a lifetime warranty. Mr. Soloman may be able to elaborate on the difference between the Sand and Tiger, in regards to freshwater performance.

Last edited:

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting