why cant I find nickles?

P

PrizmIV

Well, one nickles arnt as common as people think, and if you disc. anything besides iron alot of times you will block out nickles because there content makes them register as trash alot and its storming here so I have to get off the computer!

lonewolfe

Gold Member
Feb 14, 2005
West Michigan
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
A stick with a box at one end and a round thing on the other.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
They will be the least amount of coins you find generally,

plus,

you may be using too much discrimination to find them.

HH

Lonewolfe

SaintSea

Feb 13, 2005
Central Florida
Lonewolfe is right (as he often is!)...
I've been detecting for a long six months now ;D and I only found my first buried nickle last week! I was relying on using the 'coin' range on my detector and I the discrimination wasn't set low enough allow the nickles to register. Since I made that switch? I've found 4 more in the last two trips out...
Ruth

gregl01

Apr 19, 2005
land of the free-taxed to death
Detector(s) used
Whites M6
Nokta Fors CoRe
Hi , Ditto what LW said. My old BH had a hard time with nickels, but my ACE250 does fine. You will generally find more of everything else than nickels. Try some playgrounds and parks, that's usually your best shot at getting them.

Good lucK
HH
Greg

49er

Bronze Member
Feb 21, 2005
Sun City, Arizona
Detector(s) used
Whites..MXT..GMT
Discrimination settings is a major issue. Best method to advise to all MDer's is to for you or someone else to plant various denominations along with some junk (pull tabs, bottle caps, etc) at various depths then try and find the coins. One important thing to remember. Listen to your detector each coin has a distinctive sound listen for that sound and keep it stored in the memory bank. Keep using the test bed over and over again until you can close your eyes and distinguish between the different sounds.
Good luck and keep on detecting.

Gribnitz

Aug 1, 2004