Will the next series of detectors ruin our hobby???

BARKER

Bronze Member
Nov 1, 2011
BOSTON
Detector(s) used
Whites DFX, Garrett GMH, Toltec 100, Whites PI 3000, Fisher 75, Whites Silver Eagle 2, Whites Beachcomber, and several others from 1968 to Present
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
The reason I ask this is that metal detectors have gotten so advanced that we may no longer be able to call this Treasure HUNTING but rather Treasure GIVING.!!! I have been detecting for 45 years now. I've seen every new detector that has been since 1968. We started with the BFO type Detectors, then the TR type detectors, then the TR Disc detectors which have evolved into what we use today. Detectors that can find a dime 12" down. Ones that have screens that help to ID your Find before you dig it.
Now we have detectors that can find a Large Cent at 2' down. I know because I saw it happen in the field literally.
The thought of the next generation of detectors I think will make it so easy to find stuff at incredible depths will take away the thrill of the "HUNT". That is what drives this Hobby/Profession. The thrill of the HUNT. The not knowing with the imagined possible finds we will make each time we go out digging. I fear the next series of detectors will take that aspect away from this great hobby. It is with this said that await your replies. PEACE:RONB :coffee2:

Aug 20, 2009
New Hampshire
Detector(s) used
Garret Master hunter Cx Plus
Primary Interest:
Other
I would be more worried about certain laws and agendas that are being passed instead of new detectors.

Jason in Enid

Gold Member
Oct 10, 2009
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I think you're putting the cart before the horse here. Why worry about something that hasn't happened?

Marmentman

Sep 10, 2013
La Plata, nm
Detector(s) used
Gold stinger
Primary Interest:
Other