Wood hunting in the UK! The more holes the better, teredo and all!

OldHammerer

Greenie
Sep 28, 2016
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello! I recently found this forum and have become addicted, after having spent my youth with a metal detector in the UK I always loved the thrill of the unknown and I still have a hammered silver (the best thing I ever found!) in my wallet.

I'm a hobbyist blacksmith now and make kitchen knives with a wild array of different handle types. I love the idea of reusing old things, the older and gnarlier the better, most of my early knives were ancient files, spanners and horseshoes, long since rusted!
You can probably see where this is going, recently I started using driftwood in my handles, I clean them, stabilise and then fill the cracks with resin, I really enjoy turning something around and giving it a new life.

I was hoping I might be able to source some old wood from someone, my favourite stuff to use has been worm eaten, the more holey the better, the best stuff I ever used were several small pieces of driftwood that were some form of ancient hardwood from a wreck, the minerals and degradation made the handle look great and gave it character.

I wouldn't want to run afoul of any laws or moral issues and in all honesty I'm not sure where I stand on that, but if anyone has a nice old piece gathering dust somewhere and would be kind enough to part with it I'll cover shipping and make you a knife to boot (kitchen knife that is!)

I hope this isn't asking too much, I've seen how helpful you have all been before.

Best regards

Dave

huntsman53

Gold Member
Jun 11, 2013
East Tennessee
Primary Interest:
Other