WOOOOO-HOOOOOOOOO! GOT PERMISSION TO HUNT ON OLLLLLLLLD LAND!!

Maryland Searcher

Mar 4, 2007
Maryland, Pennsylvania line
Detector(s) used
Whites XLT (New model)
IM SHOUTING IT FROM THE ROOFTOPS!!!! I GO PERMISSION TO HUNT ON AN OLD FARM IN THE MIDDLE OF A DEVELOPMENT AND THE HOUSE DATES AT LEAST 1845!

I asked the old couple who I have known for years through work but never thought about asking to detect it since Im a newbie. I was told when Colonel Rosser came through Westminster Maryland, some of the troops made camp on the property. The woman who owns the property is going to show me where they supposedly camped and all she asked is that I show her what I found, but I could keep it! Of course I intend to document and log all finds for future reference.

This is going to be so cool if I find ANYTHING civil war related! Im not getting my hopes up, but the house has so much history and had so many people through it someone HAD to lost something within the past 150 years. I know what Im doing this Saturday if the weather holds up. ;D ;D

If the people in the development only knew how close they were to finding some history in their own backyards. Somewhere there is a gold piece with my name on it. Or silver. Or copper. Or nickel. Or lead. Or......well you get the idea.

I also know of a street named Tailings drive. If memory serves me right, tailings are where they dump the refuse from mining or quarrying operations. I may have to check that out after I hit the farm!

I AM SO STOKED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

halfdime

Silver Member
Oct 31, 2006
Zelienople
Detector(s) used
White's XLT
Sounds promising; I look forward to an enthusiastic retelling of the many finds you make.

RON (PA)

Silver Member
Sep 9, 2004
Pittsburgh, Pa
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Compadre & Tiger Shark
That is sooo coool. I would be so happy if I got permission too. Let us know what you find.

OP
OP
Maryland Searcher

Maryland Searcher

Mar 4, 2007
Detector(s) used
Whites XLT (New model)