x-terra 30

geo4472

Feb 19, 2007
paterson nj
Detector(s) used
discovery 2000 , ace 250 & x-terra 50
i own an ace 250 and want to go up a lvl in my detecteors ability and only want to spend about $350-$500 is the x-terra a good detector i ask about this one because its in the price range and because it has vdi gauge and i was thinking once i got use to the vdi numbers might make my "good finds" easier to come by ive been detecting for about 10 yrs started out with a dicovery 2000 then went to the ace just want to know if the x-terra is a good step up or not?

khouse

Dec 6, 2006
To actually move up a level from the 250 you really need to consider the XT50 and 70 in the ML family. The 50 is in your price range.

OP
OP
geo4472

geo4472

Feb 19, 2007
paterson nj
Detector(s) used
ok thanks for the replies going to check out the 50 :icon_study:

tinkb

Feb 12, 2005
Salem Ohio
I agree that the X30 won't really be an upgrade from the Ace250. I have owned them both and neither worked that great in my area of Oregon with hot rocks and materialized soil. For the money you have to spend, go with a new X50. You might even be able to find a great used one with a couple different coils or a X70.

I loved the X30 for some reason even thou it didn't do that well in my area. I just traded for a X70, got to use it for 1/2 hour one day but can already tell its going to be a good coin jewelry machine. Love all the features, light weight and interchangeable coil for different frequencies. Keep us up to date on that you end up getting. Either one, X50-X70, will serve you well.

bigtim1973

Oct 12, 2007
Middle Tennessee
Detector(s) used
XP Deus II & XP Deus
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting