XLT owner-Problems with NiMH batteries

jeffmajer

Greenie
Aug 22, 2007
Has anyone else had this problem. I am pretty new to MDing and reacently bought some NiMH (Nickel Metal Hydride) batteriesfor my XLT, which is pretty well used but seems to work fine with alkaline batteries. While detecting the other day, for the first time with the new NiMH batteries in the machine, it shut down for no good reason. The machine also would not start twice with these batteries powering it. I went out for a couple of hours today. First thing I try to start up with the NiMH batteries and it won't even come on. I switch to some alkalines and I have no problems. Has anyone else had this problem, any ideas?

Jeff In North Georgia

Aug 23, 2006
Suwanee, Georgia
Detector(s) used
Minelab CTX 3030, Fisher F75+
These rechargeables should work fine as long as they have a rating of 1800 mah (equal to an alkaline battery) or higher. It is possible you have one or more bad batteries. Check them with a voltmeter or battery tester. Also make sure that you let them charge long enough to get a full charge.

Jeff

OP
OP
J

jeffmajer

Greenie
Aug 22, 2007
I'm feeling too lazy to go get my tester, so that will have to wait. The machine did start and if you perform a battery check you get a reading of 10.? (I don't exactly remember) volts. It probobly would have started had I gave it a minute this morning but I just switched to the alkalines rather than deal with that frustration. The batteries were fully charged. I will have to check them though. (When I finally think about it).

Sarge

Dec 21, 2007
Milwaukee, WI
Detector(s) used
Whites DFX, Whites XLT
Jeff,

You should get a higher reading than 10 volts with freshly charged NiMH batteries. I normally get a tad over 11 volts shortly after a charge then it'll drop to about 10.8 V fairly rapidly & hold at about that voltage for quite some time. This holds true for both my XLT & DFX.