YOU WONT BELIVE THIS

sparkymaster

Feb 21, 2005
South Ogden, UT
Detector(s) used
Whites DFX-XLT-M-6
I'm an electrical contractor and part of my business is doing underground trench work for the main electrical lines to homes and business'.
We were doing a job last week in a subdivision that's kind of like the old meeting the new. On one side of the street it's all new homes and on the other side it's all homes that are about 40 or so years old.
As we were finishing up a job on the new side of the street a man approached me from the old side. He asked me if we would be interested in tearing out some fitzer bushes and removing the dirt to a depth of about 4" so he could put down gravel. I went over, looked at the job, gave him a price, he agreed so we scheduled it for today. The area the fitzers needed to be removed from was about 4' wide and 120' long.
We started finding neat things right off the bat under the bushes. Man, fitzers are nothing more than a neighborhood dumpster when you stop and think about it. We must have found 20 hot wheels, old jars, cans, bottles, bouncy balls and everything else you could imagine.
As I was digging some of the last fitzers out I noticed something laying there in the dirt that kinda made me go, what the??? I got off my mini ex, reached down, picked it up and it still took me a minute to register what it was.
It's a gold money clip loaded with money. There must be at least 8 or 10 bills in the clip. I was able to open it just a bit and could definitely make out two 5's under three 1's.
I don't know how much is in the for sure but I don't want to tear it up just to find out. I like it just as it is.
When I showed it to the homeowner he actually took it from me wanting to keep it for himself and then brought it back later and said, I guess since you found it you can have it, it wont do me any good. All I said was, thank you sir.