What is this?

dearthur

Nov 2, 2012
Springfield, OH
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Oops. I'm new to this. I think I posted in the wrong place? But...I'd like to know what this artifact is? It's been in the family for a long time. I think it is a popeye birdstone...from looking at pictures in some books. It is about 7 inches long, 2 inches wide, 2 inches high. It has holes drilled in it and grooves along the sides. There is a different colored patch on the top??? It's very smooth. I think I might donate it to our local museum but I don't know what it is? Poppeye Birdstone up.jpg Poppeye Birdstone side.jpg Poppeye Birdstone bottom.jpg

Upvote 0

Twitch

Silver Member
Feb 1, 2010
Missouri
Before anyone offers an opinion, can you provide any background on the piece, where it's from, how you acquired it? My thought is that your museum likely won't be interested it acquiring it, but I'm not a birdstone expert.

OP
OP
D

dearthur

Nov 2, 2012
Springfield, OH
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
More information.. It's been in the family for over 20 yrs. The story goes that it was brought in to a classroom for a show and tell but left by the student at the end of the year. It ended up on the shelf of the principal for years and years until he retired. Upon his death his widow gave it to me. This little community is located just south of Springfield, OH and it is all farming area. I imagine it was found on one of the farms. I don't know whatelse to say about the artifact except it's very beautiful.

Twitch

Silver Member
Feb 1, 2010
Missouri