terpfan

Bronze Member
Oct 31, 2007
Maryland/ NC
Detector(s) used
White's Matrix M6
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Have loved following this site for years, but have never posted. This is for two reasons: 1) I've rarely found anything that exceptional and 2) I've been intimidated by the learning curve of getting a photo posted. Nonetheless, I LOVE THIS HOBBY!! My thirteen year old son and I have been detecting for two years now, and we're addicted. This site has been a fabulous inspiration. Your stories give us the feeling that the next great find will be our own. We have learned so much from all of the contributors here, and are so grateful to you. Thanks!

On to the story. Friday was my best day ever. I had an hour free to detect during the day, and went to a 1906 suburban house just outside of Washington DC. I had gotten permission to hunt this home before, and had found few wheaties and a few silver dimes there in the past. This visit I decided to focus on a 20x20 area of lawn between the front door and the street. I had hunted this area before, but was hoping to find something that had been previously missed. I learned this from others on TNET, when they say "a site is never hunted out". Boy was that good advice.

Anyway, I soon unearthed 5 or 6 memorials that had previously been missed. I then got a weak 80 VDI signal at 4" that was very promising. I felt this might be another Rosie like I'd found here before. I dug a nice plug and scanned it with the coil. It now read a strong 85 VDI. Maybe a quarter? I split the plug in half and found THREE SILVER COINS stuck together in the split!!!. Carefully I removed the coins and carried them to a nearby lily pond to rinse them. My heart was racing when I discovered three BARBERS--two quarters (1906 and 1911 S) and one dime (1905 S)!! The 1911 S quarter was in exceptional condition, I believe it to be the prettiest coin (of any age) I have ever held in my hands. The other two coins are much more worn.