Bounty Hunter Tracker IV & Accessories

Shamus

Sep 27, 2006
Washington state
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter Tracker IV
Bounty Hunter Tracker IV & Accessories

A week ago today I ordered a Tracker IV from Belda's in Bend, Oregon. It just arrived yesterday afternoon. I played with it a bit last night and today, just in my own front yard. I've only used it for about an hour or so total, but here's what I think of it so far.

I've used a detector before, just a few times back in the 1970s, but other than that I'm a rank newbie. I wanted a cheaper detector for my first one. I couldn't justify spending $700ish on a new hobby that I might not even like once I tried it. I chose the Tracker IV because it had some pretty good user reviews, and because I liked the idea of having an analog meter as opposed to a digital display. I don't know why, but the digital displays that I saw, even on the higher-end detectors (White's, Garrett) seemed a bit cheesy to me, like they were meant to add an "Oh, shiny!" aspect to the detector to make it sell. They just turned me off. Besides, I have an electronics background and have found that an analog volt-ohm-milliamp meter can tell me more than a digital meter by the movement of the needle. I thought that the same might apply on metal detectors.

The detector shipped with no instruction manual, but I'd already downloaded it in .pdf (Adobe Acrobat reader) format from BH's website and looked it over. All that came in the box was the detector, a warranty registration card, a "free subscription" offer from lost Treasure magazine (which, after reading the fine print, turned out to be one free issue if you signed up for a pay-for subscription, but after looking over the free issue you could cancel the subscription at no charge when you got the bill). Mark Belda also managed to fit the soft case, coil cover, headphones, digging tool and a free billed-style Bounty Hunter cap into the detector's box. (Nice cap!)