brand new Equinox excess chatter

foundationfinds

Greenie
Dec 4, 2023
Detector(s) used
equinox 900
Hi all. I'm brand new to detecting. Picked up a new Equinox 900. Been through the manual. Found a couple decent youtube getting started videos as well.
I set it to 2 tones to get started. noise canceled, ground balanced, noise canceled again.
I am having to turn the sensitivity way down to like 13 to eliminate MOST of the chatter. That was my biggest surprise/frustration, given most videos online they are turning the sensitivity way up. Well into the 20s. I've tried both park, both field and at least one beach setting and it holds true with each.
Any advice?

vpnavy

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jun 15, 2008
York County, PA (USA)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
...Picked up a new Equinox 900...having to turn the sensitivity...
tn_moved_over.gif
I moved ya from HELP! over to BRANDS > MINELAB > EQUINOX 900 for more exposure.

tn_notice.gif
NOTE: Forum HELP! contains guides tutorials on how to use the new TreasureNet.com software.

bc5391

Sep 23, 2016
Southern Arizona
Detector(s) used
Minelab ,XP
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi all. I'm brand new to detecting. Picked up a new Equinox 900. Been through the manual. Found a couple decent youtube getting started videos as well.
I set it to 2 tones to get started. noise canceled, ground balanced, noise canceled again.
I am having to turn the sensitivity way down to like 13 to eliminate MOST of the chatter. That was my biggest surprise/frustration, given most videos online they are turning the sensitivity way up. Well into the 20s. I've tried both park, both field and at least one beach setting and it holds true with each.
Any advice?