Can someone help me figure out what is so special about this dollar bill!

AdaLuvlace

Greenie
Feb 21, 2013
My grandmother having lived through the depression seems to have kept everything she has ever owned...including the receipt, warranty and signed witness statements. I'm exaggerating obviously but I'm not sure how valuable this stuff is or how much is simple "save everything that might be something" kinda thinking (She's 93 btw). I have no knowledge of currency collecting and after hours of googling I realized I have no clue what I am doing. So here is what I have...

She has a 1969 Series D One Dollar wrapped up in plastic. This is odd bc they didn't even keep silver certificates and hundreds this carefully tended to. What I notice is it looks shifted on the paper. The numbers aren't unique. There is no star in the serial number. The treasury seal is not in the right place, it looks shifted up...that or the ONE is shifted down. The number 6 that is in the four corners actually touches the leaf of the number 1 on the right upper corner. Also the most obvious there is no margin on the bottom. You would almost think the bill was cut wrong but when you flip it over the back is completely normal looking. So here are some pictures and maybe there is an expert here that can give me a reason as to why my grandmother wrapped this dollar up in plastic.

image-2206342277.jpg

image-3485664111.jpg

image-1954830448.jpg

Here is the bill side by side with one of mine just so you can see the obvious difference.

Attachments

• image-1600279614.jpg
    image-1600279614.jpg
    51 KB · Views: 415

Delpirt

Feb 19, 2013
Portland Oregon
Detector(s) used
Cheapo Bounty Hunter Tracker IV
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting