Bronze Member
Feb 11, 2015
North Central PA
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Compadre, Tesoro Vaquero, Garrett Pro-Pointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
First, let me apologize if this is in the wrong location. I thought I had noticed a sub-forum for Coinstar finds recently, but could not find it.

I've been tumbling my finds for 2018 and taking them to my dump bank the past couple of weeks along with pennies from my friends who have been hoarding them since 1974. Well, the tellers have been kind enough, but I'm sensing a little tension. I have heard that some local banks are not accepting customer wrapped coins, and not wanting to rock the boat, I decided to run $45 in dimes and $3 in Zincolns through the closest Coinstar at a local supermarket. I search the reject slots all the time, but this was my first experience using one. Well, the dimes went through.....no problem. The Zincolns were running ok too (with plenty of rejects) up to my final .50 when the machine jammed. Several store employees came over and with bowed shaking heads told me they didn't have any way to assist but would get a manager to help me. When the manager arrived, I (remembering the shrewd suggestion of other TNeters) asked if I could have the reject tray. The manager happily agreed (I guessed that is one of the more troubling maintenance tasks). Well, when she got the machine opened, I held back my enthusiasm the best I could and asked if I could retrieve the other coins laying about on the platform below the spinner. Another "yes". I quickly began picking up all that was with my grasp as the manager said, "I didn't know anyone would be interested in all those foreign coins"...............

2019 01 04 Coinstar 1.jpg 2019 01 04 Coinstar 2.jpg 2019 01 04 Coinstar 3.jpg

2019 01 04 Coinstar 4.jpg

The "foreign coins" were the Barbers!! 14 of 'em!! Along with a '26 Merc, and.........good golly Miss Molly, an 1861 Seated half dime!!